Rhythm of the world…

Maybe it’s because I’ve been watching to many Victorian movies or reading too many Jane Austen novels, but the way the world worked until recently was by horse, rigid social order, fancy long dresses, and handwritten sentiments.

Boy, being at the airport for 6 hours has brought me back to reality, that’s for sure. Here I am, sitting in my little corner of the airport, listening to music, typing away on my laptop… but I can’t help but notice how amazing it is for so many people of different genders, cultures, colors, beliefs to gather in this one place for a single purpose. Sure, they’re all busy…. they have snotty kids throwing tantrums as they try to juggle luggage, purses, phones, and tickets; they’re late and cursing at the customer service, or engrossed in their phone or current technological gadget as they wait for the miracle of flight to sweep them off of the ground and land them, safely and soundly in a different place where they can hug their loved ones, or attend a funeral, or be present at an important meeting that may cost them their career.

But, amidst this mad frenzy of busy people you can’t help but notice that knowing look people exchange with each other, whether it be over kids, or the service, or the food, or their mutual tendency to be late as they lumber across the airport, luggage bumping and hitting others by, who would also exchange mutual looks of annoyance.
It’s strange, but for a moment, these people share something, if not just a long wait for their flight.

Just now, I was sitting at American Bagel watching a crowd of sports fanatics crowded around a t.v. that was showing the world cup. They were all so different. Men, women, young people, older people, serious businessmen, fun-looking college guys… but whenever their favorite team scored they’d all yell and clap and cheer. Right in the middle of the airport. Some certain individuals who secretly rooted for the underdogs, shook their head sadly, but allowed the crowd their victory.

And then there’s the annoyed businessman who harassed the poor woman at the desk.

He was late, but he kept on screaming at the lady: “You should have held the damn plane for me! I was A MINUTE LATE!!! No, hell no, I’m not paying for this.”

I kept on staring at him because my sociology antenna had been sparked… I was interested to see how everyone would react to this deviant. How dare he deviate from the social order? How dare he not smile and nod and be polite?

I’ll admit, he was a dick, but an interesting dick nonetheless.

Then, when I went to eat, he ended up behind me. He seemed nice.

Except after he was done eating, he left his junk on the table. Didn’t throw the wrappers away or anything. He didn’t even crumple them up, he just left them lying around just as they were.

Self-reverential disregard for basic courtesy probably bred by his high status job and Armani suit.

At least he didn’t feel like he was better than eating at American Bagel.

They serve delicious food. 😀

Anyways, I guess this’ll be it for my “musings”, if you can call this that. Lol.

I’ll go back to nourishing my voyeuristic tendencies.

Have a great day. Remember: get enough sleep. At least 8 hours a night. It really does make a difference. (Advice from an insomniac.)

About ofsoundandfury8

There is so little to say, but so much to know. I am a girl, a daughter, a friend. I love music: I live it, I breathe it. I an introvert. I love making new friends. I love laughter, corny jokes, a good book, sound of rain, autumn, my cat purring beside me. I want my life to mean something. I want to travel. I want to die an honest person, a loyal friend, a loving mother, daughter, and wife, and most of all a faithful child of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rhythm of the world…

  1. cherriekeane says:

    wow Vi, that was deep. really deep. like, new york times editors article deep. ever think of writing for a local magazine?

    you kinda copped out at the end with the whole ‘lol’ thing, but other than that, it started off really strongly. it was like reading one of those satirical readers digest articles, or like andy rooneys final thought on 60 minutes.

    also, armani suit guy was a douche. it has been noted.
    enjoy your flight! SAVE ME SOME AIR PLANE PRETZALS 😀

Leave a Reply

